Hey Look! A Turkey!

So, one of the things I’m supposed to photograph for the Scavenger Hunt is a turkey.  I thought about photographing the cooked Thanksgiving turkey, but decided against it since 1) my photographed food always looks wonkier than “food magazine” food, and 2) we were going to a friend’s house for Thanksgiving.  I didn’t want to get in the way with my camera.

So, here’s my interpretation of a turkey.  Enjoy!

In the finished work of art, the turkey appears to be vainly trying to escape a fireball.  No doubt this is intended by the artist to be a metaphor for the juxtaposition of hope and dispair in the holiday season.

About Rachel

I'm a grad student in the physical sciences at the University of Michigan and mother of one.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hey Look! A Turkey!

  1. Petra says:

    Looking at the first photo I thought, How is that baby staying so clean? Then I scrolled down 🙂 Now, that’s the way I remember it!

  2. Nukke says:

    Hey, these pics are great !!!! More pics like this which are from everyday life as something happens.
    ps. Have you heard about Flickr ??? You should start your own page there ! It’s great fun and very nice place for photos and you can link it to your blog so that you get a little “window” of photos in your blog. There are many groups to join but first you can be there just adding your photos there and seeing others photos there. I’ll add my Flickr address here so you can take a look : http://www.flickr.com/photos/25683079@N04/

    and you can start in http://www.flickr.com/

  3. Lizzi s. says:

    Nice! Love your slice of life photos.

  4. Hieronymo says:

    I think the turkey trying to escape from the fire expresses the fundamental crisis which faces every domestic turkey. Bravo Ike, you have seen into the soul of this noble (but, alas, delicious) creature.

Leave a Reply

