Citrus in Technicolor

Citrus season is around the corner.

Fall is apples and pumpkins; winter is for limes and lemons and oranges.

An apple pie says, “Hunker down.”  A pumpkin pie says, “The cold wind doth blow and we shall have snow.”

But a lemon tart says, “Cheer up.  The sun will come back!”

On a technical note, these are the first pictures that I really altered with RAW conversion.  I don’t think I could have made the colors this vivid (considering the fluorescent lights of the grocery store) without shooting RAW.

What do you think?  Too much color or just right?

About Rachel

I'm a grad student in the physical sciences at the University of Michigan and mother of one.
This entry was posted in Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Citrus in Technicolor

  1. Lizzi S. says:

    I like the technicolor here! I especially love the orange in the middle of all the limes. If I had less cabinets and more wall space I’d decorate my kitchen with food photos like these.

  2. Sheri says:

    Love the first shot!

  3. Kat says:

    Technicolor is right! Very vivid. I think you could have adjusted the color without raw as well, I do it all of the time in Photoshop Elements. It’s probably just a matter of playing around with whatever format works best for you…

  4. Danelle says:

    These are fantastic shots! And I’m going to remember what lemons mean in the the middle of winter. Love it!

Leave a Reply

