First RAW Attempt

So, I took the plunge and made a few shots with RAW.  Here’s Juno chewing a steak bone, converted from RAW both automatically and manually.

Converted from RAW to JPG with auto settings

When I converted it manually with Photoshop, I tweaked the exposure and curve and cropped it.

Converted from RAW to JPG manually

About Rachel

I'm a grad student in the physical sciences at the University of Michigan and mother of one.
This entry was posted in Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First RAW Attempt

  1. Great shot. I’m too lazy to shoot raw.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    That’s something I’ve never done; looks like you’ve done a great job, beautiful dog too!

  3. Lizzi S. says:

    Love your shot! I need to attempt shooting in RAW again. I got so overwhelmed with the editing possibilities that I stopped. Time to start again…

  4. Petra says:

    I only shoot in RAW now, and I love all the possibilities. Only thing is, it takes up WAY more space on the computer and memory card. 😦
    Juno is very cute!

  5. Karli says:

    Hi Rachel! Thanks for your question about the b&w paper…Hmmmm, you know, I’m not sure. That makes sense though, that it wouldn’t work to use a tint or overlay color. I’m not in the photography business, so I don’t work with any of our local printing companies…and didn’t even know that paper was an option. Now I’m curious about the whole thing…interesting! Might have to check that out! 🙂

    CUTE dog, by the way…what a fun shot! 🙂

Leave a Reply

