Crocuses

It’s official.  Spring is here. We’re setting the clocks forward and the first crocuses are up.

So far I can see the very tips of the daffodils in front of the house starting to poke up.  Whether the daffodils I planted along the back fence will come up remains to be seen.

It might be that the front of the house is warmer with the sun reflecting off the brick.  Or it might be that Juno dug up the daffodils I planted in the backyard.  Here’s a tip, boys and girls: don’t fertilize your bulbs with bone meal when you have a dog. It turns out that dogs like to dig up things that smell like bones.  I know.  I was surprised too.

Crocuses

The photo above isn’t mine; it’s from richardthelandlord on Flickr.  I’m in Reno and I forgot to upload my crocus photo before I left.  But honestly, my crocus photos look like this.  As Tolstoy said, “All midsummer gardens are colorful in their own way, but March gardens all look the same.”  At least, I’m pretty sure Tolstoy said that.

About Rachel

I'm a grad student in the physical sciences at the University of Michigan and mother of one.
This entry was posted in Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crocuses

  1. K says:

    Thank goodness for spring! I need to get outside ,

Leave a Reply

