I donated my wedding dress

I donated my wedding dress.  As I write this, my wedding dress is making it’s way by snail mail to Brides Against Cancer.

Was I sad to see it go?  A little, maybe.  But it’s a polyester David’s Bridal dress.  It’s not heirloom quality.  Even if some as-yet-unconceived daughter wanted to wear a dress exactly the style mine was, it wouldn’t be worth wearing.

Donating a cheap wedding dress to charity involves a certain amount of suspended disbelief.  I pretend that my dress will be treasured and worn again by some other starry-eyed bride.  Not eventually turned into a Halloween costume.

Who would do that, you ask?  I’ll tell you who.

The theme of the costume party was “Lyric.”  From left to right: “It’s a nice day for a white wedding” (me), “Goody two shoes” and “My angel is the centerfold.”

Wedding photography by Julia MacInnis Photography.

About Rachel

I'm a grad student in the physical sciences at the University of Michigan and mother of one.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I donated my wedding dress

  1. Pingback: Closet Progress | Rachel Shoots

  2. BB says:

    Well, that one actually made me laugh out loud. I should just sell my wedding dress. I really should…

Leave a Reply

