Closet Progress

Try as I did, I didn’t finish my closet reorganization by Friday.  I think that’s partly because I had/have farther to go than most people and partly because I work a desk job during the day.  Still, I’m pretty hopeful that I’ll finish by Monday.

What have I done so far?

  • I decided to donate my wedding dress to charity.
  • Hand washed all of my wool sweaters to store them for the summer.
  • I found a dozen items in my closet that I no longer wear that are in resale condition, and I made an appointment to take them to a local consignment shop.
  • I found another dozen items that are reusable but aren’t upscale enough for a consignment shop.  They’ll be headed for the Kiwanis Thrift Sale.
  • I bought and hemmed curtains that will serve as my closet door.  (When we moved into our house, most of the closet doors had been removed.)

What’s left to do?

  • Finish putting away the clothes I like and still wear.
  • Hang the curtains.
  • Drop off the clothes that will be sold or donated.
  • I have a handful of nice winter clothes.  I need to decide whether to keep them to sell this fall or donate them now.

And as a reminder, this is what it looked like on Monday:

I know.  Nowhere to go but up.

About Rachel

I'm a grad student in the physical sciences at the University of Michigan and mother of one.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Closet Progress

  1. K says:

    I think you’ve made awesome progress. My list of accomplishments for the week would be along the lines of – washed some clothes, cooked some food and didn’t kill my kids.

Leave a Reply

